The Karlheinz Company: Mouthpiece Event as iCalendar

(Creative Events, Music)

03 September 2017

5 - 7pm

Venue: Music Theatre, School of Music

Location: 6 Symonds Street, Auckland Central

Host: School of Music

Cost: Free admission

Contact email:

Website: The Karlheinz Company

Karlheinz Company 2017

The Karlheinz Company, founded in 1978 by John Rimmer, is a contemporary music ensemble based at the University of Auckland School of Music. Currently under the directorship of Dr Eve de Castro-Robinson, this ensemble brings together talented student performers, instrumental staff of the School of Music, and guest performers from the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra and further afield. A number of works have been commissioned from New Zealand composers with assistance from Creative New Zealand, such as Ritual Auras (John Elmsly), Concerto for Six (David Farquhar), Mobiles III (John Young), Interior (Jack Body), The Structure of Memory (Dorothy Ker), and Six Watercolours (David Griffiths). Many performances have been broadcast by Radio New Zealand Concert.

Follow them on Facebook here.


Eve de Castro-Robinson (1956–)
Whiplash for flutes (2017) - New Zealand premiere

Uwe Grodd, flute
Grace Liu, flute

Fritz Hauser (1953–)
Schraffur for gong and percussionists

Ron Samsom and students, percussion

Annea Lockwood (1939–)
I give you back (1993)

Clare Hood, soprano

Annea Lockwood (1939–)
Gone! for toy piano and balloons (2007)

Clare Hood, performer


Kevin Field
People Factory (2017)

Roger Manins, saxophone
Olivier Holland, double bass
Kevin Field piano
Ron Samsom drums

John Elmsly (1952–)
Here - world premiere

Elizabeth Holowell, violin

John Coulter (1968–)
Mouth Piece for video and four speakers (2017) - world premiere

John Coulter, diffusion

Stephen Montague (1943–)
Tigida Pipa for SATB voices, percussion and electronic tape (1983)

Morag Atchison, soprano
Catrin Johnsson, mezzo-soprano
Lachlan Craig, tenor
Gregory Camp, bass
Riley Cahill, percussion
Josiah Carr, percussion
Rebecca Celebuski, percussion
Ting-ting Foster, percussion
John Coulter, diffusion