Eden Arts Art Schools Award Winners

27 July 2015
Group shot of the five winners.
(L-R) Nicholas Pound, Bridie Halpin, Giulio Laura, Tanya Martusheff, Melissa McMahon.

The Eden Arts Trust is delighted to congratulate the winners of the fifth annual Eden Arts Art Schools Award announced on Monday 20 July 2015.

Overall Winner               Giulio Laura (Whitecliffe)

Highly Commended        Tanya Martusheff (Whitecliffe)

Highly Commended        Bridie Halpin (AUT)

Highly Commended        Nicholas Pound (Elam)

Board's Choice              Melissa McMahon (Unitec)

The Overall Winner receives $5,000 in prize money and the three Highly Commended students each receive $1,000. The Board’s Choice is a $500 award.

The judges were artists Denys Watkins and Mary-Louise Browne, and gallerist Melanie Roger.

The Eden Arts Art Schools Award brings together Central Auckland's four major art institutions: Elam, Unitec, Whitecliffe and AUT. Five undergraduate students were selected from each school.

The award exhibition, hosted this year by Elam School of Fine Arts, is open for public viewing at the Gus Fisher Gallery, 74 Shortland St, Auckland Central. Exhibition dates are Tuesday 21 July to Saturday 1 August (closed Sunday and Monday).

The Eden Arts Community Arts Trust was formed around 28 years ago for the purpose of promoting the arts in the greater Mt Eden area. Eden Arts’ flagship event is the annual Artists in Eden Day in March. Proceeds fund an annual calendar of events including prize money for the long-established Young Artists Awards every September, which is open to 16-25 year olds either living or studying in the Trust's designated Mt Eden area.

For more information:
Cathy Manning, Eden Arts Board