Staff and student projects recognised with Interior Awards

03 July 2017
image from Interior awards winner
Detail from Morphosis of Social Conscience by Elliot Morgan

The 2017 Interior Awards were announced on Thursday, with staff and students from the University of Auckland recognised for excellence in New Zealand commercial interior design innovation.

The Installation Award was presented to Future Islands, the New Zealand pavilion at the 2016 Venice Architecture Biennale. Senior Lecturer Kathy Waghorn from the School of Architecture and Planning was a member of the interdisciplinary/cross-institutional team, acting as the Associate Creative Director on the project.

The judging panel comprising five industry professionals described Future Islands as “at once atmospheric, immersive and challenging.”

They said the exhibition “took into consideration a highly varied audience, complex logistics and schedules, as well as a refreshing lyricism and depth. The pavilion also eloquently responded to the overall theme of the Biennale, ‘Reporting from the Front’, on the social role of architecture.”

The Student Award was presented to School of Architecture and Planning postgraduate Elliot Morgan for his project Morphosis of Social Conscience, which looks at how the design of special programmes and spaces can address and impact our current mental health crisis.

Described as an experimental, humanistic project, the judges found that "although the design was not without areas of critique, the exploratory programme pushed boundaries while also demonstrating what is desirable in student work - an ambition to use design to create innovative, humane solutions to the problems of the world, beyond the pragmatics of the quotidian.”

Elliot, who will graduate in September with a Master of Architecture (Professional) degree, has previously been named the 2017 Stephenson & Turner prize winner, and was also a finalist in last year’s New Zealand Institute of Architect's Central Innovation Student Design Awards.

Interior Awards finalists this year also included Sarosh Mulla and Aaron Paterson, both staff from School of Architecture and Planning and student Jiaxuan Goh.

Find out more about the Interior Awards

Find out more about Future Islands

Find out more about Morphosis of Social Conscience