School of Music staff

SoMLobby

We understand that decisions about where to study music are often based upon the calibre of the teachers and the teacher-student relationship. Below is a list of available instrument and performance teachers by discipline. You are invited to contact staff directly for any queries you may have. 
 

Voice


Rachel Fuller - accompanist, vocal coach

View Rachel's profile

r.fuller@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Te Oti Rakena - voice
 

View Te Oti's profile

t.rakena@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Karen Grylls - choir, choral conducting

View Karen's profile

k.grylls@auckland.ac.nz

Kay Shacklock - accompanist 


 

k.shacklock@auckland.ac.nz

  

Brass


Tak Chun Lai - euphonium, tuba



music-admin@auckland.ac.nz

Doug Cross - trombone

 

d.cross@auckland.ac.nz

Top

Percussion


Laurence Reese - timpani

laurence.reese@auckland.ac.nz

Eric Renick - percussion

eric.renick@auckland.ac.nz

Top

Strings


Andrew Beer - violin

 

a.beer@auckland.ac.nz

David Samuel - viola

 

 

Bella Zilber - double bass

 

 

Edith Salzmann - cello

 

e.salzmann@auckland.ac.nz

Yi Jin - harp

 

yi.jin@auckland.ac.nz

Top

Early Music


Peter Reid - cornetto 

 

peter.reid@auckland.ac.nz

Polly Sussex - viola da gamba

 

m.sussex@auckland.ac.nz

Huw Dann - baroque trumpet

View Huw's profile

h.dann@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Marie Ross - historical clarinets

View Marie's profile 

marie.ross@auckland.ac.nz

James Tibbles - early keyboards

View James' profile

j.tibbles@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Graham McPhail - baroque violin

View Graham's profile

graham.mcphail@auckland.ac.nz

Jessica Shaw - recorder 

 

jessica.shaw@auckland.ac.nz

Sally Tibbles - baroque flute

 

sally.tibbles@auckland.ac.nz

Top

Contemporary Music


Dr John Coulter - sonic arts
 

View John's profile

j.coulter@auckland.ac.nz

Eric Lamb - contemporary music ensemble

View Eric's profile 

eric.lamb@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Eve de Castro-Robinson - composition 

View Eve's profile 

e.decastro@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Leonie Holmes - composition
 

View Leonie's profile

l.holmes@auckland.ac.nz

Top

Jazz and Popular Music


Mike Booth - jazz trumpet

 


michael.booth@auckland.ac.nz

Nathan Haines - jazz saxophone

View Nathan's profile

nathan.haines@auckland.ac.nz

Caroline Manins - jazz voice 

 

c.manins@auckland.ac.nz

Chris O'Connor - jazz drums

 

c.oconnor@auckland.ac.nz

Grant Winterburn - jazz and popular music piano

View Grant's profile

grant.winterburn@auckland.ac.nz

Godfrey De Grut - popular music piano

View Godfrey's profile

g.degrut@auckland.ac.nz

Hadyn Godfrey - jazz trombone

 

h.godfrey@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Olivier Holland - jazz bass

View Olivier's profile

o.holland@auckland.ac.nz

Roger Manins - jazz saxophone

View Roger's profile

r.manins@auckland.ac.nz

Kiri Eriwata - popular music vocals


View Kiri's profile

k.eriwata@auckland.ac.nz

Kevin Haines - jazz bass

 

kevin.haines@auckland.ac.nz

Dixon Nacey - jazz guitar

View Dixon's profile

d.nacey@auckland.ac.nz

Neil Watson - jazz and popular music guitar 

n.watson@auckland.ac.nz

Top