Thomas Hutchinson
Thomas Hutchinson. Credit: Daniel Delang

Thomas Hutchinson: Oboe Masterclass Event as iCalendar

(Creative Events, Music)

29 March 2018


Venue: Music Theatre, School of Music

Location: 6 Symonds Street, Auckland Central

Host: School of Music

Cost: Free admission, booking required

Contact email:

Website: Book your ticket here


Please note that the start time of this masterclass has changed to 7.30pm and may differ from printed materials.


New Zealand-born oboist Thomas Hutchinson began his studies in Auckland with Martin Lee and Alison Jepson before moving to Melbourne for further study at the Australian National Academy of Music with Jeffrey Crellin, during which time he won the concerto competition and the most outstanding recital prize.

Following the advice of his teachers he then moved to Paris, where he was unanimously admitted to the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, entering the classes of Jacques Tys, David Walter and Frédéric Tardy. Following his final exam in 2015 he was awarded a mention très bien à l’unanimité, avec les felicitations du jury.

Immediately after his studies he returned to Melbourne to take up the position of associate principal oboe with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra under Sir Andrew Davis, and in 2017 was joint-winner of the 66th ARD competition in Munich, also winning the prize for the best performance of the commissioned work by Thierry Escaish.

Since returning to Melbourne Thomas has taught at the Australian National Academy of Music and the University of Melbourne, and has been invited to teach at the international oboe summer school in Wellington, New Zealand.

He has made numerous appearances as soloist, including with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Münchener Kammerorchester, Münchner Rundfunkorchester, Bach Musica NZ, Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra, Orchestra Victoria, and the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra.



All performers will be accompanied by Dr. Sarah Watkins


Felicity Than (Masters): First movement (Allegretto grazioso) from Edwin York Bowen's (1884-1961) Sonata for oboe and piano.


Noah Rudd (Stage 3): Franz Krommer (1759-1831): Oboe Concerto No. 2 in F major, Op. 52 - I. Allegro


Akari Ouchi (Stage 1): Francis Poulenc (1899-1963): Sonata for Oboe and Piano 1. Elégie (Paisiblement, Sans Presser)


Joshua Webster (Stage 2):  Robert Schumann (1810 - 1856): Three Romances for Oboe and Piano, Op. 94 - 1. Nicht schnell