Record number of University of Auckland designers nominated for Best Awards

10 October 2016
Cathedral Grammar Junior School
Cathedral Grammar Junior School - Professor Andrew Barrie. Image: Patrick Reynolds.

The School of Architecture and Planning is celebrating its best ever representation in the Best Awards, one of New Zealand's leading design awards programmes, adjudicated by The Designers Institute of New Zealand (DINZ).

With over 15 staff and student projects across a number of categories selected as finalists, the School is hopeful of clinching sought-after Gold Pins, awarded to the best project in each category.

Four University of Auckland staff members are up for consideration in 2016. Projects involving Senior Lecturer Kathy Waghorn have received two nominations: the Venice Architecture Beinnale exhibition Future Islands, for which she was associate creative director; the other for the exhibition catalogue designed by Inhouse and edited by Kathy.

Professor Andrew Barrie's work on the Cathedral Grammar Junior School in Christchurch is a finalist in the Public and Institutional Spaces category, the project having already won a handful awards since its completion.

New staff member Sarosh Mulla is a finalist in two categories with the Longbush Ecosanctuary Welcome Shelter, his creative practice doctoral project, appearing in the Public Good and the Public and Institutional Spaces categories.

Student nominees from the School are listed below in accordance with their nominated projects:

Thesis project
Louie Tong
Fatina Chan 
Taylor Chan
Rachael Piper
Ye-Jin Yoon 
Tessa Forde
Ji Hye Lim
Kate Turner
Chirag Jindal
Matt Ryu

Fourth year project
Linus Goh
Brooke Bardell-Munroe

The School is also involved with another finalist project - the MODOS 2015 publication, which showcases the thesis projects of the Class of 2015 and was designed by Amy Yalland of Index.

The Best Awards will be announced at a special awards dinner in Auckland this coming Friday evening. For more information on the awards, visit the Best Awards website