Best of the Best honoured

18 October 2016

An image of the award winning Cathedral Grammar Junior School.
Cathedral Grammar Junior School - Professor Andrew Barrie. Image: Patrick Reynolds.

University of Auckland staff and students have been honoured with prestigious Gold Pins at the recent Best Awards.

At a special awards dinner on Friday 14 October, three staff members and three student projects from the School of Architecture and Planning were recognised at the evening celebrating the best of New Zealand design in various fields. 

Staff awarded Gold Pins for their projects were:

  • Professor Andrew Barrie, for his work on Cathedral Grammar Junior School in Christchurch, in the Public and Institutional Spaces category. 
  • Lecturer Sarosh Mulla, for the Longbush Ecosanctuary Welcome Shelter (Gisborne), in the Public and Institutional Spaces category. Sarosh was also awarded a Gold Pin in the Emerging Professional Category. 
  • Senior Lecturer Kathy Waghorn, for her involvement in the Future Islands: New Zealand Pavilion at the Venice Architecture Biennale 2016. The exhibition won Gold in the Exhibition and Temporary Structures category, and was also nominated in the Editorial and Books category for the exhibition catalogue designed by Inhouse and edited by Kathy.

Students Chirag Jindal and Kate Turner (thesis projects) and Brooke Bardell-Munro (fourth year project) were also acknowledged, winning three of the four Gold Pins in the Student Category. 

The School of Architecture and Planning has been celebrating a record number of Best Awards finalists across a number of categories, with all staff nominees winning Gold Pins. The other student nominees are listed below. 

Thesis project
Louie Tong
Fatina Chan 
Taylor Chan
Rachael Piper
Ye-Jin Yoon 
Tessa Forde
Ji Hye Lim
Matt Ryu

Fourth year project
Linus Goh

The School was also involved with another finalist project - the MODOS 2015 publication, which showcased the thesis projects of the Class of 2015 and was designed by Amy Yalland of Index.

Acting Head of the School of Architecture and Planning, Dr Lee Beattie, says the Best Awards are huely significant for the School. "They are the only New Zealand awards to cover the full range of design disciplines. For The School’s staff and students to have been involved with 15 finalist projects - and to have been awarded 7 Gold Pins - is a remarkable achievement. It demonstrates that our people are working at the highest level, and, as our best-ever result, shows both the increasing strength of our programme and our broadening engagement with the world beyond the University."

The best awards are adjudicated by The Designers Institute of New Zealand (DINZ). To find out more, visit the Best Awards website